The remainder of the world’s biggest T20 tournament, the Indian Premier League, will begin on September 19. Ahead of the start of the competition, let’s look at all the eight franchises that clash in the league for the coveted title. 

Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians is undoubtedly one of the most successful IPL franchises. With five titles in its bag already, the team continues to demonstrate its domination every year. Ever since the team started their winning streak in 2013, Mumbai Indians never looked back and won all the five finals they appeared in. Owned by Reliance Industries, India’s biggest conglomerate, it won three titles in the last four years. 

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Popularly known as the Orange army, Sunrisers Hyderabad replaced Deccan Chargers in 2012 and debuted in 2013. Sun TV network, the largest media and entertainment company owns the franchise. SRH won the trophy in 2016 against Royal Challengers Bangalore under David Warner captaincy. 

Chennai Super Kings

The three-time champion is one of the popular teams in IPL, along with Mumbai Indians. Led by MS Dhoni, CSK won the titles in 2010, 2011 and 2018. Chennai Super Kings Cricket Ltd and India Cements own the team.

Punjab Kings

Preity Zinta, Ness Wadia, Mohit Burman and Karan Paul are the owners of this Mohali based team. KL Rahul captains the side and is yet to make its IPL debut. 

Delhi Capitals

GMR Group and JSW jointly own the team with an equal stake. The runner up of IPL 2020 is currently leading in the points table. Rishab Pant has taken the responsibility of leading the team after Shreyas Iyer had an injury and is likely to captain the side in the second phase as well. 

Royal Challengers Bangalore

One of the most loved teams in the IPL, Bangalore has a large fan base. With players like Virat Kohli, AB De Villers is a perfect entertainer. Although the team managed to appear in three finals, Bangalore never grabbed the title. Fans are expecting Bangalore to lift the trophy in 2021.

Rajasthan Royals

Winners of the inaugural edition of the league, Rajasthan Royals is a high potential team based out of Jaipur. Manoj Badale, RedBird Capital and Lachlan Murdoch together are the owners of the group. Led by Sanju Samson, Rajasthan Royals is known for encouraging young talent.

Kolkata Knight Riders

The Bollywood Badshah, Shah Rukh Khan, Juhi Chawla and Jay Mehta are not owners of KKR. Having won the title twice in 2012 and 2014, KKR is led by Eion Morgan. KKR will kick off the journey in the second phase of IPL against Royal Challengers Bangalore. 

With the second half of the season just around the corner, let’s wait and see what the tournament unfolds. Watch IPL live on YuppTV and never miss any match updates.